As mentioned in the previous post, this year I actually followed through on baking some sweet treats to give as gifts.  Some of them went/will be going to personal friends and a big chunk of them went to Craig’s co-workers.  We already covered the cranberry and ginger pumpkin bread that I know will be a holiday favorite of mine for years to come so now let’s discuss what Craig says is one of the most delicious things I’ve ever baked: pecan shortbread squares.

Like all of my holiday goodies I got the inspiration for these from one of the (many) food blogs I follow on my rss feed.  With a buttery shortbread crust and a caramel and pecan filling reminiscent of pecan pie these are a combination of gooey, crunchy, and crumbly that is seriously addictive.

As usual I did make a few tweaks.  I toasted my pecans first just to get a nuttier, deeper flavor from them.  A few minutes in a 350-degree oven — with an occasional shake of the pan to move them around — yielded lightly golden and fragrant pecans.

The recipe calls for brown sugar and honey, I mixed things up by substituting golden syrup for the honey.  Also, I’ve previously blogged about how I almost never buy brown sugar anymore since it’s so prone to hardening in the cupboards and since I learned how to make my own brown sugar by combining regular sugar and molasses.  Because the sugar in this recipe was going to be melted into a caramel anyhow I didn’t even bother making brown sugar.  I just used regular sugar and then added a half tablespoon of molasses.

My final alteration to the recipe was that, after my pans were out of the oven, I sprinkled some flaky sea salt on top as the dishes cooled.  This little extra hint of salt worked magically with the caramel, pecans, and butter to create a treat that you could eat by the plateful.  But I wouldn’t suggest that.  With all the butter and sugar in the recipe, these are incredibly rich.  I suggest cutting pretty small squares: about 1.5″ x 1.5″ or perhaps slightly larger.

It should be noted that, if anyone even thinks I’m exaggerating how good these are, Craig is a noted chocolate fiend who isn’t big on shortbread or caramel but he called these “pretty much the most delicious thing ever”.  Moral of the story: if you live in a household that’s divided along the lines of sweet and salty, chocolate and non-chocolate, then make these.  They’ll win over even the chocolate-loving crowd who may otherwise be tempted think life would be better if you had just baked brownies instead.

Pecan Shortbread Squares
adapted from Once Upon A Chef
Makes 16 2-inch squares

Ingredients
For the crust
3/4 cup all purpose flour, spooned into measuring cup and leveled off with knife
1/4 cup corn starch
1/2 cup confectioners sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup (1 stick) cold unsalted butter, cut into 1-inch pieces

For the filling
12 tablespoons (1-1/2 sticks) unsalted butter
3/4 sugar
3 tablespoons golden syrup
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
Generous pinch salt
2 tablespoons heavy whipping cream
3 cups coursely chopped pecans, toasted

Make the Crust
Adjust an oven rack to the middle position and preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Cover a 9-inch square baking pan with heavy duty aluminum foil. Push foil neatly into corners and up sides of the pan, using two pieces if necessary to ensure it overlaps all edges (the overhang will help removal from pan). Spray foiled pan with nonstick cooking spray.

Place the flour, corn starch, confectioners sugar and salt in a bowl of a food processor fitted with the blade attachment. Pulse a few times to mix. Add the butter and pulse until the mixture resembles coarse meal with pea-size clumps of butter within. Dump mixture into prepared pan and press firmly with your fingers into an even layer over the bottom. Refrigerate for 15 minutes, then bake until crust is set but not browned, about 17 minutes. Set on rack to cool. Leave oven on.

Make the Filling
In a heavy medium saucepan over medium-low heat, combine butter, brown sugar, honey, vanilla and salt. Stir with a wooden spoon until sugar dissolves. Turn up the heat and boil gently for 3 minutes. Stir in heavy cream and chopped pecans.

Assemble and Bake
Pour pecan mixture over crust (it’s fine if crust is still warm). Bake until filling is bubbling and caramel in color, about 20 minutes. Cool completely on rack. To cut, use the foil overhang to lift baked square out of pan and onto cutting board. Loosen the foil from the edges, then cut with a sharp knife into 2-inch squares. Store finished pecan squares in air-tight container and serve at room temperature.